August 29, 2019, a ceremony marked the Unveiling of the prize “ATHENA” of the Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee and the grand opening of the 42nd Session of Chinese Taipei Olympic Academy. The Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee (CTOC) has long been renowned for advocating the Olympic education and cooperate closely with International Olympic Academy (IOA) in an effort to pass on Olympism and ideals to the young generations.

Last June, the President of the Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee & Olympic Academy, Mr. Hong-Dow LIN was awarded with the prize “ATHENA” by the President of International Olympic Academy, Mr. Isidoros KOUVELOS, in recognition of CTOA’s dedication and contribution to the promotion of Olympic Movement. At this glory occasion, His Excellency, the President of the Hellenic Republic, Mr. Prokopions PAVLOPOULOS, IOC President, Dr. Thomas BACH, President of the Hellenic Olympic Committee, Mr. Spyros CAPRALOS, and IOA Honorary Dean, Prof. Konstantinos GEOGIADIS, all came to the scene to congratulate President LIN.

During the Unveiling Ceremony, Mr. Hong-Dow LIN also awarded the Laurel Medal for IOA President Kouvelos in appreciation for the continuous support from IOA towards CTOA. In addition, President LIN awarded Professor Hsiu-Ying MAI and Professor Chun-Lin CHO with Laurel Medal in recognition of their 40 years’ contribution to promoting Olympic Education in Taiwan.

Following the establishments of NOAs of Spain, the Republic of Korea and the United States of America, the Chinese Taipei Olympic Academy, the fourth in a row, was founded in 1978 by the late Prof. Ming-Hsin TANG, former Secretary General of Chinese Taipei Olympic Committee and Chairman of Education Commission of CTOC. The Chinese Taipei Olympic Academy Session has been conducted consecutively for 41 years with the aim of promoting the fundamental principles and values of Olympism. Since its establishment in 1978, through this NOA’s dedication and relentless hard work, the Academy has successfully assembled a total of 4,100 domestic participants and 90 international participants from Asian countries over the years.

From this year’s four-day session, the participants are expected to further understand the core values of “Excellence, Friendship, and Respect” with the course design of in-depth lectures, experience sharing and small group discussions.

Unveiling of the Athena Award

IOA President Kouvelos was awarded with Laurel Medal by CTOC President LIN

Laurel Medal Awarding Ceremony

Grand Opening of the 42nd Session of CTOA

Close Menu